26407651353_4beaaaf7a3_o.jpg
Photo Credit: CAPTAIN ROGER FENTON 9th.WEST MIDDLESEX VRC. 1860/Flickr Public Domain

Harry Potter is a global phenomenon that have taken muggle children and adults into the wizarding since the series’ inception in 1997. In 2011, the final film of the series hit theatres, and audiences around the globe watched Harry and his friends Ron and Hermione, save Hogwarts one last time.

It was not until 2013, that J.K. Rowling announced that the beloved series would be hitting the stages of London in 2016.

Since the show’s premiere on June 7th, 2016, only those willing to travel to London have been able to the series in its new form.

On May 4th, the New York Times and Harry Potter and the Cursed Child announced that the show would open on Broadway Sunday, April 22, 2018.

The story begins nineteen years after the Battle of Hogwarts, which takes place at the end of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. The play follows Harry Potter, who is now a Ministry of Magic employee, and his son Albus Severus Potter, who is about to attend Hogwarts himself.

This is massive news for Broadway. This is going to be the biggest show coming to Times Square next year. I expect this to be the next “Hamilton” and put Broadway in the circle of conversation for months to come. I do not expect people being able to get a ticket to this show very easily. This series already has so much hype behind it, coming to the United States will only magnify that hype.

The thing about this show coming to Broadway is, this show attracts more than just your average theatregoer. People from all of the nation, theatre goers to die hard Harry Potter enthusiast will be vying for an opportunity to watch the sequel of their favorite wizarding hero.

Being a Harry Potter fan in my own right, I hope I am able to somehow get my hands on a ticket. Although I am a fan, I am not a die-hard Potterhead, and probably will not break my bank to see this show. In a more theatric sense, I hope that this show is able to sustain itself as much as I hope it will. A little part of me is scared the show may be too technical and have to close due to big budgets, similar to the Broadway production of Rocky.

Is this show going to be as big as it is expected to be? Do you expect it to get a good reception in the United States? Is there a chance, it becomes a Broadway bust? Give me your thoughts below!

 

